If I wanted to invite a client/external person to my company, how do I ensure they do not have to provide billing information?

Anyone you invite to a list goes through the 30 day trial, whereby at the end of the trial they will be asked to choose whether they want to go Free, Pro or Team. They simply need to select Free and they can continue to collaborate on lists you share with them. 

All we ask is that you pay for members of your company/team using it, anyone you choose to collaborate out-with does not need to pay. The hope is that they like the software so much themselves that they start paying for it themselves.

Feedback and Knowledge Base